An announcement from St James’ Palace in London confirmed Teesside University as the recipient of a highly prestigious national honour, a ‘Queen’s Anniversary Prize’, for its outstanding work in the field of enterprise and business engagement.
These much-coveted awards are part of the UK’s national honours and are the most prestigious form of national recognition for excellence in higher and further education.

The Prizes recognise outstanding work at world-class level and are awarded biennially to only a handful of universities and colleges across the UK, allowing recipients to proudly use the Prizes logo for a period of 4 years to signpost their excellence to current and future partners, staff and students. As a national honour the awards are approved by Her Majesty The Queen.

Teesside University, which is built on the academic foundations of its predecessor institution Constantine College opened in 1930 by the Prince of Wales (who later became King Edward VIII) - boasts an excellent track record of supporting enterprise and works to promote entrepreneurship as a realistic career choice amongst its graduates.

The prizes scheme is administered by the Royal Anniversary Trust and was established in 1990 with the approval of The Queen and all-party support in Parliament. The assessment process is overseen by the Trust which makes the final recommendations to the Prime Minister for advice to The Queen.